CFP Semifinals and Conference Title Games


Braden Buchek

The College Football Playoff committee chose Alabama, Michigan, Georgia, and Cincinnati to play in the CFP, or College Football Playoff.

Alabama clinched the #1 seed after beating Georgia in the SEC championship game. Georgia still remained in the playoffs as it was their first loss of the season and they had held the #1 ranking almost all season.

The #4 seed, Cincinnati, beat #21 Houston 35-20, which gave Cincinnati an undefeated regular season. They played Alabama on December 31, 2:30 PM in the Cotton Bowl Semifinal. It was held in Arlington, Texas, at AT&T Stadium. Alabama defeated Cincinnati 27-6 in the semifinal matchup.

Michigan, the #2 seed, absolutely destroyed Iowa in the Big 10 championship game, 42-3. Michigan’s only loss this season happened against Michigan State, but they quickly bounced back and beat #2 ranked Ohio State.

Georgia, the #3 seed, remained undefeated all year until they lost to Alabama, 41-24 in the SEC championship. Michigan and Georgia played on December 31 at 7:30 PM in the Orange Bowl Semifinal, in Miami Gardens, Florida. It was held at Hard Rock Stadium, at the Miami Dolphins football stadium. Georgia demolished Michigan 34-11 in their semifinal matchup.

In other college football news, #9 ranked Baylor beat #5 ranked Oklahoma State in the Big 12 Championship. Red shirt freshman quarterback Blake Shapen was called to action three weeks ago when starting quarterback Gerry Bohanon injured his hamstring. Since then, he had done remarkable, and before Shapen’s first incompletion he was 17/17 for completions, 134 yards, and 3 touchdowns. The game went down to the wire, but Baylor managed to stop Oklahoma State when they were on the goal line on 4th down with less than a minute left. Baylor won 21-16.

Baylor defeated Ole Miss in the Sugar Bowl on January 1, with a final score of 21-7. The game was held at the Mercedes Benz Superdome, which is the stadium of the New Orleans Saints. 

Other conference title game scores:

Pac 12 Championship: #17 Utah 38, #10 Oregon 10. 

ACC Championship: #15 Pittsburgh 45, #16 Wake Forest 21. 

Mountain West Championship: Utah State 46, No. 19 San Diego State 13.

Sun Belt Championship: No. 24 Louisiana 24, Appalachian State 16.

C-USA Championship: UTSA 49, Western Kentucky 41.

Stay tuned for our write up on the College Football Playoff final between Georgia and Alabama!